In Praise of Slow

“Slow down, you move too fast.
You got to make the morning last.”

– Paul Simon

Can we really get more done by slowing down? Sometimes I think we can. I know when conversations slow down we can process ideas in a more thorough fashion. I think we can teach the same way as well.

What’s the point in collecting reams of writing, carting it home, marking it up and repeating the process a day later? What if we just slowed down, provided meaningful, timely feedback and marked work when it was completed to the best of a students ability? Slow down to move ahead faster. Take the first 20 days at the beginning of a school year or a term and work on routines and building student stamina through a Daily 5 type program. It will pay dividends later on.

Sometimes I think we get caught up with doing things too quickly. I don’t know about you, but I seldom do a good job when I’m rushed. When I meet with friends I don’t want race through things. I want to enjoy their company. I probably don’t spend enough time with them anyway. I have one friend who seems to be living life at breakneck speed. I realize that it’s all a matter of perception, but it still gets me a little anxious.

My buddy Brian reminded me that we both have copies of  Carl Honoré’s In Praise of Slow. Neither of us have finished it yet. We’re taking it slow.

2 Comments on “In Praise of Slow”

  1. Angie says:

    Once again your comments come at the right moment. My students are creating incredible eBooks but it’s taking a while. I found myself feeling a little rushed while editing with students. I had put an artificial timeframe of completion by the end of January. I have 20 students at various stages of the writing process. Some of them are in their second round of books but then there are a few who just never seem rushed. Maybe I can learn a bit from those who ponder and think while writing.
    I just needed to hear, it’s okay to take things slow.
    Thanks,
    Angie


Leave a Reply

