More “Yes … and”

The person who says it cannot be done, should not interrupt the person doing it.” ~ Chinese proverb

Lately I’ve been listening for the use of the phrase “Yes … but” in conversations and meetings. I hear it more and more, almost to the point of physical discomfort. At he same time I’m aware that I need to purposefully use the phrase “Yes … and” a lot more. I hope my PLN colleagues call me out on this. Most of the time this comes from the Lizard Brain that Seth Godin talks about in Linchpin. It’s a downward way of thinking that seldom moves the conversation forward. Maybe it’s the time of year or maybe it’s the time of teaching, I don’t know. I hope to use “Yes … and” a lot more, and I hope I hear it more often as well.

One Comment on “More “Yes … and””

  1. Colin,
    I love the idea of adopting a “Yes… and” attitude. Sounds very CAN DO and puts the focus on enabling change vs. handcuffing it.

    Responding this way communicated that I am here to help, what do you need from me to make this happen.

    Viva EMPOWERMENT!

    Tania


Leave a Reply

